Miras International School, Astana provides a quality education, based on the integration of international and Kazakhstani educational standards, within a challenging and supportive environment that fosters international-mindedness, promotes all aspects of individual growth, and equips students with the skills for lifelong learning.
  

+7 (7172) 36 98 67

+7 (7172) 36 98 68

Kuishi Dina st. 32, 34
Astana, Kazakhstan

IB Middle Years Programme at Miras International School, Astana

International Baccalaureate Middle Years Programme in the Integrated Curriculum of Miras International School, Astana

Miras International School, Astana is proud to offer the International Baccalaureate Middle Years Programme (MYP). It is our firm belief that the adoption of the IB Programme positively enhances our teaching philosophy and practices. Our focus on holistic learning challenges all students at all levels, equipping them with the intellectual, emotional, and physical tools to excel with their future educational plans.

The MYP is a curriculum framework that helps teachers establish goals, focus units of study using the Global Contexts and conduct meaningful assessments. The MYP focuses on the development of the whole child within the context of the Learner Profile. Students are given ownership of the learning process and are encouraged to actively participate in their own education by setting personal goals and practicing on-going self-evaluation.

It is an international curriculum, providing academic rigour while equipping students with skills and attitudes appropriate to the challenges and opportunities of contemporary society.

The MYP curriculum provides for ease of movement between International Schools around the world, as well as opportunities for students to gain internationally recognized Middle Years Programme Records of Achievement and Certificates at the age of 16.

In Kazakhstan, since March 2005, the MYP certificate is also seen as equivalent to the secondary school certificates of the Republic of Kazakhstan. The MYP curriculum, therefore, provides students wishing to pursue an international education within Kazakhstan the opportunity to do so on equal terms with students following the more traditional Kazakhstan educational programme in national schools.

Recognition of the status of «international schools» in the law «On education» which was initiated and lobbied by the Nursultan Nazarbayev Educational Foundation and approved by the government of the Republic of Kazakhstan in January 2012 has become another important achievement on the way for further integration of the republic in international education.

The Middle Years Programme celebrates its 20th anniversary by introducing major changes under «MYP 2014» project. The updated curriculum requirements have been made operative from September 2014.

The IB curriculum is unique in the sense that it provides a continuum of international educational experience and a smooth transition from its stages. The nature of teaching and learning in the PYP is concept-based, transdisciplinary and largely taught by a single classroom teacher. As students move to the Middle school, a smooth transition from the transdisciplinary model into a model that focuses on disciplinary and interdisciplinary learning is provided, which requires coordination in shared approaches to curriculum design. By counselling our students in their subject choices in MYP years 4 and 5 we ensure their appropriate preparation for the Diploma Programme, with the content of the curriculum being aligned under each subject group’s final objectives for continuity from year 5 of the MYP into the two-year DP.

MYP: Student-Centered Education

The International Baccalaureate Middle Years Programme (MYP) is concerned with providing more for students. Learners are expected to be well versed in the traditional subject areas of our current integrated curriculum, and more — they are also encouraged to see the relationships between them. They are expected to develop a genuine understanding of their own history and culture, and more — they are also encouraged to appreciate the traditions of other people and other places.

Students are expected to have a firm command of language as a means of communication, and more — they are encouraged to develop a respect for the elegance and richness of other languages and forms of communication. Above all, we expect our students to acquire a genuine love of learning and the skills and discipline to support their education through the rest of their lives. The Middle Years Programme (MYP) embraces and transcends the goals of traditional educational models.

Students are encouraged to holistically explore various disciplines and their interrelatedness and interdependence. This interdisciplinary perspective asks students to consider issues in their widest scope and realize that solutions may be acquired from many different sources. A growing intercultural awareness moves beyond a simple tolerance of other people towards developing a genuine empathy and readiness to act cooperatively in shared efforts.

Communication is the fundamental ingredient in the service of these ambitious aims. Good communication skills go far beyond the ability to relate your message. Students actively practice and develop their listening skills as well as being attuned to the intentions, variations, and nuances of others.

Middle Years Programme Curriculum Model

The Middle Years Programme curriculum model is displayed in the shape of a circle with eight academic areas or subject groups surrounding additional programme elements, with the Learner Profile at its centre. The emphasis is on the fluidity of the system and the inter-relatedness of the subjects' with one another.


The MYP is an academically rigorous programme for students in school. The goals and philosophy of the three IB programmes are consistent. The MYP naturally follows the Primary Years Programme (PYP) in Pre-School to Grade 5, and it also serves as excellent preparation for the IB Diploma Programme offered in grades 11 and 12.

The MYP: A Unique Approach, Relevant For Today’s Global Society

The MYP aims to help students develop their personal understanding, their emerging sense of self and responsibility in their community. MYP teachers organise the curriculum with appropriate attention to:

Teaching and learning in context. Students learn best when their learning experiences have context and are connected to their lives and the world that they have experienced. Using global contexts, MYP students explore human identity, global challenges and what it means to be internationally-minded.

Conceptual understanding. Concepts are big ideas that have relevance within specific disciplines and across subject areas. MYP students use concepts as a vehicle to inquire into issues and ideas of personal, local and global significance and examine knowledge holistically.

Approaches to learning (ATL). A unifying thread throughout all MYP subject groups, approaches to learning provide the foundation for independent learning and encourage the application of their knowledge and skills in unfamiliar contexts. Developing and applying these skills help students learn how to learn.

Service as action (community service). Action (learning by doing and experiencing) and service have always been shared values of the IB community. Students take action when they apply what they are learning in the classroom and beyond. IB learners strive to be caring members of the community who demonstrate a commitment to service-making a positive difference to the lives of others and to the environment. Service as action is an integral part of the programme, especially in the MYP community project.

Language and identity. MYP students are required to learn at least two languages (language of instruction and additional language of choice). Learning to communicate in a variety of ways is fundamental to their development of intercultural understanding and crucial to their identity affirmation.

The Personal Project

All MYP students will complete a personal project in Grade 10. The personal project is a culminating activity in the MYP. It is a significant body of work produced over an extended period. It is a product of the student’s own initiative and should reflect his/her experience of the MYP. The personal project holds a very important place in the programme. It provides an excellent opportunity for students to produce a truly creative piece of work of their choice and to demonstrate the skills they have developed in approaches to learning.

Разработка
и сопровождение

Международная школа «Мирас» города Астана обеспечивает качественное образование, основанное на интеграции международных и казахстанских образовательных стандартов, способствующее формированию интернационального мышления, содействующее всестороннему развитию студентов, приобретению ими навыков непрерывного самообразования в стимулирующей и благоприятной школьной среде.
  

+7 (7172) 36 98 67

+7 (7172) 36 98 68

Казахстан, г. Астана, ул. Күйші Дина 32, 34

Программа Основной школы Междунродного Бакалавриата (IB Middle Years Programme) в Международной школе «Мирас» г. Астаны

Программа Основной школы Международного Бакалавриата в интегрированной программе Международной школы «Мирас» г. Астаны

Международная школа «Мирас» г. Астаны с гордостью несет звание авторизованной школы по Программе Основной школы Международного Бакалавриата (IB MYP). Мы убеждены в том, что именно внедрение этой международно-признанной программы способствует неуклонному совершенствованию преподавательской методологии и практик учебно-воспитательного процесса. Акцент на целостное обучение стимулирует учебный процесс, обеспечивая его интеллектуальную, эмоциональную и физическую составляющую для непрерывного роста каждого студента, какую бы стезю в дальнейшем он не выбрал.

MYP — надежный помощник учителям в определении целей и фокуса каждой преподаваемой темы, рассматриваемой сквозь призму одного из глобальных контекстов и поддерживаемой значимым оцениванием. Программа MYP сосредоточена на целостном развитии ребенка во всех аспектах Модели учащегося. Студенты несут ответственность за учебный процесс и активно в нем участвуют, определяя личные цели и проводя регулярную самооценку.

Это учебный план, основанный на международных стандартах качества, ставящий высокую академическую планку и стимулируюший развитие навыков и отношений, отвечающих вызовам и возможностям современного общества.

Программа MYP адаптивна к стандартам международных школ по всему миру, предоставляя возможности перехода студентов без ущерба для качества и получения ими междунродно-признанных свидетельств об академических достижениях и сертификатов Программы Основной школы в возрасте 16 лет.

В Казахстане с марта 2005 года сертификат MYP признан эквивалентным свидетельству о неполном среднем образовании Республики Казахстан. Таким образом, Программа MYP предоставляет студентам, получающим международное образование в Казахстане, равнозначные возможности со студентами, обучающими по национальной программе в других школах страны.

Признание статуса «международной школы» в законе «Об образовании», инициированном Фондом образования Нурсултана Назарбаева и утвержденном правительством Республики Казахстан в январе 2012 года, стало значимой вехой на пути интеграции республики в международное образовательное пространство.

Программа Основной школы отметила свое 20-летие проектом «MYP 2014», внесшим значительные изменения в ее структуру и содержание. Обновленные стандарты внедряются с сентября 2014 года.

Угикальность IB в непрерывности опыта международного обучения, получаемого стдентами, и скоординированности переходных этапов во всех четырех программах. Концептуальные основы PYP, выраженные в трансдисциплинарном характере программы, обеспечиваются преподаванием, осуществляемым одним учителем-практиком для каждого класса. При переходе в Основную школу происходит трансформация трансдисциплинарной модели в междисциплинарную с четким акцентом на цели и задачи преподавания каждой дисциплины, что требует согласованности и координации подходов к учебному планированию. Реализация программы профессиональной поддержки студентов 4 и 5 года MYP обеспечивает их качественную подготовку к Дипломной программе, с учетом требований по содержанию программы при переходе из 5 года MYP в двухгодичный курс DP.

MYP: образование с акцентом на студенте

Программа Основной школы Международного Бакалавриата (IB MYP) — программа для студентов. Она не только дает глубокие знания по тртадиционным предметам нашей интегрированной учебной программы, но и способствует нахождению студентами связей между предметами, развивая истинное понимание своей истории и культуры и восприятие традиций других людей и культур.

Хорошее владение родным языком как средством общения — залог успешного учения и основа уважения к богатству и грациозности других языков и форм самовыражения, благодаря которым воспитывается тяга к получению знаний на протяжении всей жизни. Таким образом, Программа Основной школы (MYP) углубляет и расширяет цели традиционных образовательных моделей.

Студенты проводят глубокие исследования в различных дисциплинах во всем их многообразии и взаимозависимости. Такая междисциплинарная перспектива спососбствует развитию понимания того, что решения могут стать результатом изучения различных источников. Совершенствуя межкультурное осознание, студенты расширяют свое понимание толерантности, развивая эмпатию и готовность к совместным действиям для достижения поставленных целей, реализация которых невозможна без развитых коммуникативных навыков. Активно практикуются навыки аудирования, а также умения выделять и анализировать вариации, намерения и нюансы коммуникативных форм, которые используются в общении с другими людьми.

Модель Программы Основной школы

Модель Программы Основной школы представляет собой круг с восемью предметными группами, окружающими ключевые элементы программы и Модель учащегося, расположенную в центре. Акцент при этом сделан на подвижности системы и взаимосвязи и взаимозависимости дисциплин друг с другом.

Программа MYP, как и остальные программы Международного Бакалавриата, чьи цели и философия сходны друг с другом, предъявляет серьезные академические требования к студентам. MYP является естественным продолжением Программы Начальной школы (PYP) от предшколы до 5 класса и отличной подготовкой к Дипломной Программе IB в 11 и 12 классах.

MYP: уникальный подход, отвечающий требованиям современного глобального общества

MYP способствует развитию личного понимания студентов, самопознанию и ответственности перед обществом. Учителя, работающие в программе, уделяют особое внимание:

Обучению в контексте. Подкрепленный контекстом учебный опыт студентов и нахождение связей с реальными жизненными ситуациями и окружающим миром обеспечивают качество учения. Применяя глобальные контексты, студенты MYP проводят исследования уникальности человеческой природы, глобальных вызовов, с которыми сталкивается человечество, и значения международного мышления.

Концептуальное понимание. Концепции представляют собой идеи глобального масштаба, выходящие на вопросы, рассматривающиеся как в специфических дисциплинах, так и в междисциплинарных областях. Концепции в MYP используются как инструменарий для исследования вопросов и идей личностной, местной и глобальной значимости и для рассмотрения знаний во всей их совокупности.

Подходы к учению (ATL). Связующее звено всех предметных групп MYP, подходы к учению закладывают фундамент самостоятельного учения и применения знаний и навыков в незнакомом контексте, что ведет к пониманию студентами того, как учиться лучше и эффективнее.

Служение действием (служение обществу). Действие (активное обучение посредством экспериментирования) и служение всегда были неотъемлемыми ценностями сообщества IB. Студенты активно вовлечены в действие, когда применяют то, чему учатся, на уроках и за пределами класса. Учащиеся IB стремятся быть заботливыми участниками сообществ, демонстрируя приверженность служению на благо других людей и природы. Служение действием — важнейшая составляющая программы, особенно в общественном проекте MYP.

Язык и индивидуальность. Согласно требования MYP, студенты изучают как минимум два языка (язык преподавания и иностранный язык по выбору). Умение эффективно использовать средства общения — важная составляющая в развитии межкультурного понимания и формировании индивидуальности.

Персональный проект

Все студенты MYP выполняют персональный проект в 10 классе. Персональный проект — завершающая, кульминационная работа в MYP, являющаяся следствием непрерывного вовлечения в исследовательскую практику на протяжении достаточно продолжительного времени и представляющая собой результат личной инициативы студента, который размышляет и оценивает свой опыт в MYP. Персональный проект занимает особое местов программе, представляя студентам уникальную возможность продемострировать свои творческие способности при создании продукта по их собственному выбору и навыки подходов к учению.

Разработка
и сопровождение